2018 SPBGMA nominees announced Posted on December 20, 2017 By John Lawless

The nominees for the 2018  Bluegrass Music Awards from the Society for the Preservation of Bluegrass Music of America have been announced. They will be presented in February at the 44th Annual SPBGMA Bluegrass Music Awards and 35th National Convention & Band Championship in Nashville. 

In contrast to the IBMA, which takes a wide view in the question of just what bluegrass music is, SPBGMA hews much more closely to the traditions that informed the style in its earliest days. Nominees and final award winners are chosen by balloting among the membership, and attendees at the annual convention at the Sheraton Music City Hotel each winter. 


And the nominees for the 2018 awards are… 

Bluegrass Promoter of the Year 

Norman Adams 
Bob Auth 
Ryan Frankhouser 
DA Callaway 
Melanie Wilson 
Sammy Karr 

Bluegrass Radio Station of the Year 

WBRF-FM Galax, VA 
WCHQ-FM Louisville, KY 
WPAQ-AM, Mt. Airy, NC 
Sirius XM 062-Bluegrass Junction 
WBZI-AM, Xenia, OH 
WSM-AM, Nashville, TN 

Bluegrass DJ of the Year 

Judith Burnette WBRF FM Galax, VA 
Bob Mitchell WCHQ FM Louisville, KY 
Tim Frye WPAQ AM Mt. Airy NC 
Kyle Cantrell Sirius XM 062 
Chris Jones Sirius XM 062 
Cindy Baucom Knee Deep In Bluegrass 

Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year 

Larry Cordle 
Donna Ulisse 
Milan Miller 
Eric Gibson 
Daryl Mosley 
Wayne Taylor 

Bluegrass Album of the Year 

Colors – The Farm Hands on Pinecastle Records 
Let Them Know I’m From Virginia – Big Country Bluegrass on Rebel Records 
In The Ground – The Gibson Brothers on Rounder Records 
Life Is A Story – Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver on Mountain Home Music Company 
Before Breakfast – The Grascals on Mountain Home Music Company 
Silence In These Walls – Flatt Lonesome on Mountain Home Music Company 

Bluegrass Bass Fiddle Performer of the Year 

Tyler Wiseman 
Michael Gregory 
Gary Trivette 
Mickey Harris 
Mike Bub 
Darrin Vincent 

Bluegrass Dobro Performer of the Year 

Gaven Largent 
Tim Graves 
Rob Ickes 
Jerry Douglas 
Dylan Armour 
Josh Swift 

Bluegrass Guitar Performer of the Year 

Tony Wray 
Rebecca Frazier 
Keith Tew 
Josh Williams 
Kody Norris 
Jacob Greer 

Bluegrass Mandolin Performer of the Year 

Tristin Norfleet 
Zack Arnold 
Alan Bibey 
Larry Stephenson 
Wayne Benson 
Danny Roberts 

Bluegrass Banjo Performer of the Year 

Don Hill 
Josiah Tyree 
Tyler Thompson 
Billy Lee Cox 
Mitch Walker 
Kristin Scott-Benson 

Bluegrass Fiddle Performer of the Year 

Gil Benson 
Adam Haynes 
Ron Stewart 
Jamie Harper 
Hunter Berry 
Mary Rachel Nalley 

Female Vocalist of the Year (Overall) 

Brooke Aldridge 
Amanda Smith 
Dale Ann Bradley 
Rhonda Vincent 
Jeanette Williams 
Sonya Isaacs 

Male Vocalist of the Year (Overall) 

Johnny Williams 
Kody Noris 
Jr Sisk 
Russell Moore 
Jacob Greer 
Daryl Mosley 

Bluegrass Gospel Group of the Year 

Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers 
The Farm Hands 
The Churchmen 
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver 
The King James Boys 

Bluegrass Vocal Group of the Year 

Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice 
Carolina Blue Band 
The Farm Hands 
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver 
Branded Bluegrass 

Bluegrass Instrumental Group of the Year 

The Farm Hands 
The Kody Norris Show 
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper 
Branded Bluegrass 
Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice 

Bluegrass Band of the Year (Overall) 

The Kody Norris Show 
Branded Bluegrass 
The Farm Hands 
Remington Ryde 
Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice 

Bluegrass Entertainer(s) of the Year 

Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver 
The Farm Hands 
Flatt Lonesome 
Remington Ryde 
Branded Bluegrass 

Bluegrass Song of the Year 

Burn The Barn – Big Country Bluegrass on Rebel Records 
All My Life – Flatt Lonesome on Mountain Home Music Company 
Rural Route – The Farmhands on Pinecastle Records 
Life To My Days – Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver on Mountain Home Music Company 
My Quiet Mind – The Gibson Brothers on Rounder Records 
Sleeping With The Reaper – The Grascals on Mountain Home Music Company 

Congratulations one and all. See you in February!

Leave a comment

    Add comment